ADIOS AMIGOS!

My name is Gurnaaz Kaur and except for the phrase “adios amigos”, I do not understand Spanish. I am a second-year student and am planning to major in psychology. I am very fond of novels and poems and always find myself in the fascinating world of books. I am not a very social person but love meeting new people and learning more about them. I have a nature full of curiosity and thus love trying out new hobbies, finding new genres of books and surfing through the internet to find answers to questions that pop up in my mind at 3 am almost every night. 

One of the reasons why I wanted to study Romantic Studies ( RMST 202) is that I am very much intrigued by the French, Italian and Portuguese cultures, from Claude Monet’s artwork to reading books like Pinocchio. Yet, I do not know much but am eager to learn more and expand my horizons. I also want to push myself and score an “A” in the course. I understand that receiving the perfect grade could be very tough but I am very motivated and willing to try to do so.

“Literature is a form of writing that forces us to pay attention to how language works and the mechanisms of representation.”

Jon said we live in a world where romance does not belong to anyone but makes its way everywhere as it comes with a sense of belonging, comfort and the feeling of being free. I agree with this statement wholeheartedly as I believe that this sense of belonging that comes with these texts binds us all together as it makes the readers feel the same way. One relates to these texts with a sense of familiarity with the feelings described by the author.

I wish all the students the best of luck for the course!

One response to “Introduction”

  1. Hola Gurnaaz! I think you will really enjoy this course, especially because it will allow you to find those connections between texts and cultures about which you already have some intuition… and I can gladly teach you some phrases in Spanish and Portuguese. Hasta pronto!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started